Process of manufacture

The creation of a new knife model follows a particular process. In the 1stst time, it is necessary to have a set of specifications which varies depending on the purpose of the knife. However, somes models are born from a pure research of design.
In general, I start with a start with a paper drawing and then I move on to computer drawing on Autocad(CAD software).

Once the design has been validated, I make several prototypess until I am 100% satisfied with the volumes and ergonomics.
Then I make the knives are cut outs laser-cut from N690Co steel.

To make a knife, several steps are necessary.here are several steps involved

- • The first step is to make The first thing to do is to make the bevel, which will give the knife its cutting capacity and its blade style (flat bevel, hollow bevelThis will give the knife its cutting capacity and blade style (flat, hollow, high...). This step is carried oute at the backstand by handeI do not use a guide. I use a « wire guard» I use a wire guard to mark theI use a wire guard to mark the edge of each blade. Finally, I use different grains of sanding belt abrasive tape depending on the final finish of the knife.
- • For coutewith a plate handle: it is necessary to make the drilling, cutting of handles, adjustments and shaping. All this is done before done before hardening.
- • When the knife and handle are finishedWhen the knife and handle are finished, I proceed to the marking by cold stamping of the unique number. Indeed, each custom knife has a number stamped in the mass and is delivered with a certificate of authenticity.
- • Once all these steps have been completed, the blades are sent to theesent for tempering in Thiers, the home of French cutlery. I have chosen vacuum hardening under vacuum with cryogenics to optimise the mechanical propertiess of the N690Co.

The final steps result in the knife

- • After return After returning to the workshop, each blade will be "cleaned" to receive the desired finishes by the customer (brushed, stonewash, acid sprays).
- • Finally, I proceed to assemble the handle, either in paracord, or in platess (which are mostly gluedes and then finishedes by hand with differents with different grits of sandpaper depending on the materials useds).
- • The knife is thus 90% finished, and all that remains is the step that makes a knife a knife: sharpening.

Finally, lhe knife is cleaned and packed in a case for shipment. to be shipped. Some of the knives will go under my photographic lens to animate my social networks and to decorate my website.

It is therefore as this that your future knife will be born in my workshop. A knife goes through manya knife goes through many stages of manufacture the right equipment, skillsequipment, skills and experience, experience and and expertise acquireds over time through passion.

My gallery of custom knives, with unique and sometimes conceptual
knives.

Processus de fabrication

La création d’un nouveau modèle de couteau suit un processus particulier. Dans un 1er temps, il est nécessaire d’avoir un cahier des charges qui varie selon la destination du couteau. Cependant, certains modèles sont nés d’une recherche pure de design.
En général, je commence par un dessin papier et ensuite je passe au dessin informatique sur Autocad(logiciel de CAO).

Une fois le dessin validé, je réalise plusieurs prototypes de forme en bois jusqu’à être 100% satisfait des volumes et de l’ergonomie.
Puis, les couteaux sont découpés au laser en acier N690Co.

Pour réaliser un couteau plusieurs étapes sont nécessaires

Il faut tout d’abord faire l’émouture, ce qui donnera au couteau sa capacité de coupe et son style de lame (émouture plate, émouture creuse, émouture haute…). Cette étape est réalisée au backstand à main levée, je n’utilise pas de guide. Je me sers d’un « fil guard » pour marquer proprement l’entablure de chaque lame. Enfin, j’utilise différents grains de bande abrasive selon la finition finale du couteau.
Pour les couteaux avec un manche en plaquette : il faut faire les perçages, découpes de manches, ajustages et façonnages. Tout cela est réalisé avant trempe.
Quand le couteau et le manche sont terminés, je procède au marquage par frappe à froid du numéro unique. En effet chaque couteau custom porte un numéro frappé dans la masse et livré avec certificat d’authenticité.
Une fois toutes ces étapes réalisées, les lames sont envoyées à la trempe sur Thiers, bassin de la coutellerie Française. J’ai choisi la trempe sous vide avec une cryogénie pour optimiser les propriétés mécaniques du N690Co.

Les étapes finales donnent naissance au couteau

Après retour de trempe à l’atelier, chaque lame sera « nettoyée» pour ensuite recevoir les finitions souhaitées par le client (brossé, stonewash, projections acides).
Enfin, je procède au montage du manche, soit en paracorde, soit en plaquettes (qui sont la plupart du temps collées puis ensuite finies à la main avec différents grains de papier de verre selon les matériaux utilisés).
Le couteau est ainsi terminé à 90%, il ne reste plus que l’étape qui fait d’un couteau un couteau : l’affûtage.

Pour finir, le couteau est nettoyé et mis en mallette pour ensuite être expédié. Certains couteaux passeront sous mon objectif photo pour animer mes réseaux sociaux et agrémenter mon site.

C’est donc comme ça que ton futur couteau prendra naissance dans mon atelier. Un couteau passe ainsi par de nombreuses étapes de fabrication nécessitant un matériel adéquat, des compétences, une expérience et une expertise acquises au fil du temps par passion.

Ma galerie de couteaux customs, avec des couteaux
uniques et parfois conceptuels.